‘To Green Angel Tower: Storm’ wraps up the ‘Memory, Sorrow and Thorn’ trilogy by Tad Williams (even though the last book was split into two and so there are four books on my bookcase that are a part of this trilogy…). As it’s the last book in the series, I won’t say too much about it so I don’t spoil anything. What I will say is that it wrapped up the series in a very satisfying way, and by the end of it I had a smile on my face.

This book moves as slowly as all the rest. Despite the slow pace I never found myself bored or frustrated with the series. When the ending comes things move a bit quicker. All of the mysteries hinted at since the beginning of the series come together, and are wrapped up in a very satisfying way. I really appreciated the skill in both having a slow moving book that never lost my interest, and bringing everything together at the end. The fore-shadowing throughout the series was just enough I think, that the reader can guess some things, but not all. The ending was tense, exciting, and sad, as not all my favourite characters survived.

The ending though put a smile on my face, and made me want to revisit the land and all my favourite characters. If you enjoyed the first book, the rest of the books and the ending definitely live up to it. I think this series has snuck onto the list of my favourite books, and I’m very glad I picked up the first one at the book fair.

