I finished these two books a several weeks ago. I’m going to talk about both of them at the same time mainly because by now I’ve forgotten too many of the details to do separate reviews…

prophehElizabeth_Haydon_2So ‘Prophecy’ continues on from ‘Rhapsody’ – Achmed is busy ruling over Ylorc with the help of Grunthor, while Rhapsody spends most of her time away from Ylorc traveling with Ashe. This set up means you don’t see as much of Achmed and Grunthor as in the first book, which I found disappointing as they were my favourite characters. I’m also not particularly fond of Ashe, and he features much more prominently in the book as well.

In this book the characters are still trying to figure out who the F’dor is, and what role the Rakshas plays. It’s pretty entertaining trying to figure it out from the clues you’re given, and this was probably what I enjoyed most about the book. As in the previous book, there is a lot of backstory and detail about the world. You learn a lot more about the Cymrians, the F’dor and the dragons in this book. Elizabeth Haydon writes exciting and fast-paced fight scenes, which break up the slow pace of the rest of the book.

There are more developments in this book with Rhapsody and her love interest. I found Rhapsody’s response to these developments a little odd, as for most of the book she doesn’t seem to have any romantic interest in the aforementioned love interest.

Overall, I preferred the first book to the second, but I still got a lot of enjoyment out of this book. My favourite characters took a backseat in this book, but trying to figure out the politics and who the F’dor might be was entertaining and kept my interest up.

Now, onto the final book in the trilogy, ‘Destiny’. This was my least favourite of the three. It’s a long book (~700 pages), and a lot of it is spent introducing new characters, who eventually meet up with the main characters and then don’t do anything. I also found these new characters (particularly Vincane), to be a little contradictory, and how they behaved once they joined Rhapsody didn’t seem to fit very well with their introduction.

There also isn’t a strong sense of urgency in this book, as Rhapsody spends an awful lot of her time helping out various other people on non-urgent work unrelated to finding and stopping the F’dor. At least, I liked Ashe more in this book and felt some sympathy for him. On the other hand, I like Rhapsody even less. It’s not that I dislike her, it’s more that I’m indifferent to her and don’t find her a particularly relateable character. Her apology to Constantine particularly bothered me. Her baffling ignorance about a whole range of things also continues from the first book into the second and third. Her frequent insistence that she’s just a peasant also doesn’t make sense considering her role and position in society (for one, she’s the ambassador for a King, and quite closely involved in the running of Ylorc…). It gets annoying after a while.

Though it took a while, the ending was exciting and rewarding. I won’t spoil it, but when everything finally comes together there’s a lot of action, and a few unexpected twists. At the very end, we also finally learn who Meriodion is.

So overall, the first book in the trilogy was definitely my favourite. I still enjoyed the second, though the third was a bit of a struggle to get through. I’d still recommend it if you enjoyed the first two. The ending is exciting, and it’s a fitting conclusion to the series.

 

