So, I haven’t been doing a lot of reading lately as I’ve been writing more. I find it hard to do both at once as it’s difficult keeping two competing stories in my head at the same time. Anyway, so I thought I’d do something different and talk about Adventure Time, a weird little cartoon that, judging by the amount of t-shirts and other merchandise I’m seeing in stores, has become quite popular.

From: Wikipedia.com

It took me a while to get into Adventure Time, and when I first saw it I disliked the style and thought it looked really silly. It grew on me however and now I find I enjoy it. It’s very funny and I’ve found I’ve become really attached to the world of Ooo and all the strange creatures that inhabit it.

Adventure Time is about Finn the human and his best friend Jake a magical, talking dog. The show follows them as they go on adventures (What time is it? Adventure Time!), or just hang out with their many friends.The world is richly populated with lots of strange creatures, such as the Ice King, who is always kidnapping princesses, PB, a princess made of bubblegum who rules over the Candy Kingdom, and Marceline the Vampire Queen. Many of the characters get further explored and fleshed out in some of the episodes (particularly the Ice King). All the characters are funny and engaging, and I can’t say there are any that I dislike, though LSP (Lumpy Space Princess) is one of my favourites. At the end of the episodes everything doesn’t return to the status-quo either, so characters and relationships change and grow over the series, which is refreshing in a cartoon.

From: adventuretime.wikia.com

Adventure Time is odd, sometimes disturbing, and usually very surprising and original, but what I most like about the show is the feeling that there’s this whole other world with people going about their business, and each episode just shows you a tiny bit of it. The Land of Ooo feels lively and interesting, and like there’s always more to explore.

From: saywhatonline.com

I think Adventure Time is awesome, though my boyfriend absolutely hates it, so its humour certainly won’t appeal to everyone. Apparently its a show for kids, though adults can definitely enjoy it (and might even enjoy it more…). If you haven’t seen it, you should check it out. Some of my favourite episodes are ‘Morituri Te Salutamus’, ‘Trouble in Lumpy Space’ and ‘Belly of the Beast’.

