I played this game when it first came out, which was about two years ago. Why am I reviewing it now? Well, mostly because I do not in fact play or finish one game/book a week. I’d run out of things to play/read pretty quickly if I actually did that. Anyway, onwards to the review! (And notice, I’ve learnt how to use the ‘more’ tag!)

I really enjoyed this game – right up until the story took a nosedive and went from interesting and original to boring and very, very familiar. But enough of that for now, let’s start with what I liked about it.

The fighting is fun, there are a lot of side-quests, the world is huge, and it changes, which was one of my favourite things about this game. I spent hours just doing side-quests and watching the location affinity and the relationships between NPCs change. As you complete quests from a specific area your affinity with that location increases. This unlocks new quests and new items to trade. The way you complete quests, and which ones you choose to take on, also changes the relationships of the NPCs with each other.

Image from: wallsonline.org

Relationships aren’t limited to NPCs either, having the same characters in your party for a while, performing specific actions in battle and giving gifts, improves the relationships between your party members. This unlocks heart-to-hearts, as well as improves their performance in battle and gem-crafting.

It should be apparent by now that this is a big, deep game with lots to do. It’s a lot of fun, and you can sink days into it. I also liked the characters and the story… up to a point. I won’t go into details but I was disappointed in the direction the story took (maybe halfway- twothirds of the way through the game). Despite that, I still enjoyed it, I still finished it. If you like rpgs, you’ll probably like ‘Xenoblade Chronicles’.

Did anyone really love the ending?

