This is the first book I’ve read by Neil Gaiman, and I loved it, though I’m not entirely sure how to review it. I don’t want to discuss it in too much detail, lest I ruin it, but ‘it was really good’ isn’t a very enlightening review. Anyway, let’s see how I go…

ocean‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ follows a nameless narrator as he returns to the home of a forgotten childhood friend and reminisces about the past. This book is written in a very clean style, and by that I mean is that there aren’t any superfluous words or scenes, and Gaiman manages to describe things vividly, but in few words. Themes of childhood and growing up and wishes (and I hate discussing themes in books) are woven seamlessly into a story about scary monsters living downstairs and ponds that are really oceans.

The world of ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ is full of mysteries and secrets, that our narrator barely scratches the surface of (in some ways, it reminds me of Charles de Lint’s writing). The story was magical and enchanting, at times scary or sad, but always engaging. In short, it was a pleasure to read and I can see myself re-reading it many times.

