Before I begin this review of ‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn I should say I don’t generally read mysteries or thrillers. I watch so much of that stuff on TV the whole genre just feels slightly stale to me. Despite that, I did enjoy this book. For Part One, the story switches between Nick and the diary of his wife, Amy, who has disappeared. Nick is an unreliable narrator, and I love unreliable narrators.  The reader is presented with Nick’s own vision of himself, while Amy’s version of him and their relationship is quite different. Which one is real? What are they really like? Slowly, the story unravels and with growing dread you realize there’s a good chance that Nick could be the killer.

Then, Part Two. It’s difficult to discuss this without spoiling the plot, so if you haven’t read the book you shouldn’t read any further. What I’ll say is that the ending and conclusion were unexpected, but satisfying. Some of Flynn’s descriptions really jump off the page, the characters are fleshed out nicely, as are their relationships with each other. They’re all nicely flawed in their own special way, but you like them anyway, which is quite an accomplishment on Flynn’s part.

gonegirl

Now, I’ll try and keep the details minimal, but if you haven’t finished the book, think carefully about reading on. In Part Two the ‘killer’ is revealed. I think I preferred Part One, in Part Two we have Nick trying to extricate himself from the trouble he’s in- he’s been framed. Perhaps it would have been more satisfying if Nick had won and proved his innocence, but it was an interesting twist for the person who framed him to reveal themselves and save him – on conditions of course. As the story progressed I really felt the dread and terror that Nick felt at having to continue living with Amy. The story is very much about Nick and Amy and the seriously messed up way they work together and why they stay together. The ending surprised me, and it was good, but I do wonder how long that situation could last…

Does anyone else have any thoughts on the ending, or the book in general?

